Swedish Cinnamon Rolls

by heikes3

I love going to IKEA and getting coffee, jams and goodies there. I know, others go there for the furniture, I do that, too … but if you know me, I’m mostly about food LOL

So, I came across this Swedish Pearl Sugar with a recipe for Swedish Cinnamon Rolls on the back. I could just see Anna and Emily enjoying these in the morning with a glass of milk or cocoa before school and certainly Michael and me with a cup of coffee. Or for an afternoon snack. It is spring time, windy outside, so perfect for a fresh baked morsel of buttery, sweet goodness with a cinnamon kick. And sometimes, I just have to try something new, to mix up the morning routine so I made these in the evening, right by the recipe, preheated the oven on time-bake in the morning, got up and shoved them in the oven for fresh, warm cinnamon rolls just in time for breakfast.

Well, the verdict was … yummy, but not cinnamony enough … so I had to do a redo, which got a thumbs up all around. So, here is the recipe:

Swedish Cinnamon Rolls

Ingredients:

1 envelope of dry yeast or 2 1/4 tsp yeast

1 1/2 sticks butter (unsalted)

1 cup milk

1/4 cup sugar

3 cups flour

1/2 tsp cardamom (if desired)

Filling:

2 Tbsp  butter, softened

2 1/2 Tbsp sugar

1 Tbsp cinnamon

Glazing:

1 egg lightly beaten

Pearl sugar

Directions:

Melt butter. Add milk and heat until lukewarm. Put yeast in large mixing bowl. Pour in butter/milk mixture and stir until yeast has dissolved. Add sugar, salt, cardamom and most of the flour. Work together until elastic. This dough is very soft, so don’t add too much flour. Place in a warm location and let rise 30 to 40 minutes. It does not rise very much at this point. Place dough on a lightly floured surface and knead using remaining flour as needed.

Roll dough out to form a square about 1/3″ thick. Spread the softened butter on it leaving a 1/2″ unbuttered edge on one side and sprinkle with cinnamon/sugar mixture. I tried making a butter, cinnamon + sugar paste, but it makes it a lot less spreadable. You end up with too much filling in the rolls and there is already plenty of butter in them. Roll the square to form a log ending with the unbuttered side. Pinch the dough to secure the edges.

Cut the log into 24 rolls. I mark my cutting points with a knife, first in half, then quarters, eights and then those eights into thirds to make 24 even rolls. (This is not just my German exactness showing through, but the rolls all bake evenly if they are all roughly the same size.)  Then I take dental floss (I did not have tasteless dental floss, but actually had cinnamon, which worked. Just don’t use mint!) shimmy it under the edge, cross it over at the top and pull to cut off a beautiful looking cinnamon roll. Place them on greased or baking paper lined baking sheets about 2 inches apart. Cover and either put in the fridge overnight or let rest for 20 minutes before baking.

For fresh cinnamon rolls in the morning put your oven on time bake at 425°F to have heated for 30 minutes before you want to put in the rolls. For cinnamon rolls right away preheat the oven to 425°F.

Just before baking, brush the rolls with egg and sprinkle generously with pearl sugar.

Bake for 10-14 minutes (depending on your oven) or until rolls are golden brown.

I will submit this post for Susan’s weekly Yeastspotting post.

3 Responses to “Swedish Cinnamon Rolls”

  1. I never thought of putting pearl sugar on cinnamon rolls, but of course that would be wonderful! Your rolls are lovely; thank you for sending them to YeastSpotting.

  2. There’s no such thing as too much cinnamon in my book! These look delicious…I love the pearled sugar idea. (I like the foodie finds at Ikea more than the furniture as well…but SHHH don’t tell!)

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

